JettyGirl Online Surf Magazine logo
Subscribe to JettyGirl's mailing list


Round 3 Roxy Pro presented by LG On at Snapper Rocks; Champ Could be Crowned Today

carissa moore

silvana lima

melanie bartels

Top: Silvana Lima enjoying some flight time
during the Expression Session. Above: Melanie
Bartels meets up with fellow Hawaiian Megan
Abubo in Round 3.
Photos: ASP Kirstin © Covered Images.

Left: The most anticipated match-up of Round 3
is Carissa Moore (pictured here) against current
World Champion, Stephanie Gilmore.
Photo: ASP Kirstin © Covered Images



Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) International
Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG
Roxy Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG
Stop No. 1 of 11 on the 2008 ASP World Tour
Stop No. 1 of 8 on the 2008 ASP Women's World Tour
Snapper Rocks, Coolangatta, Australia
February 23 - March 5, 2008

Round 3 Roxy Pro presented by LG On at Snapper Rocks; Champ Could be Crowned Today

COOLANGATTA, Australia (Saturday, Mar. 1, 2008) – Round 3 of the Roxy Pro presented by LG will hit the water in clean three-foot (1 metre) waves at Snapper Rocks this morning at 7:30am, and could potentially run from Round 3 through the Finals, crowning a 2008 Roxy Pro Champion by day’s end.

The opening event of the 2008 ASP Women’s World Tour, the Roxy Pro pres. By LG, is the all-important momentum builder for the season, and today’s winner will enjoy the ASP rating’s lead until the next event

“The official call is that we’re going to get Round 3 of the Roxy Pro underway at 7:30am,” Rod Brooks, Event Director, said. “Depending on the conditions, the girls may opt to go on hold for an hour, but if it’s looking good, they’ll start at 7:30am. Following the completion of Round 3, we’ll reassess and determine whether to finish the girls or run Round 3 of the men. The swell is projected to increase over the coming days and we’ll be running our surfers in the best conditions possible.”

With 16 of the original 18 surfers still remaining in the draw, the Roxy Pro pres. by LG will see some dynamic match-ups in Round 3 including former seven-time ASP Women’s World Champion Layne Beachley (AUS) and Australian veteran Serena Brooke (AUS), Hawaiian powerhouses Megan Abubo (HAW) and Melanie Bartels (HAW), Rebecca Woods (AUS) and Rosanne Hodge (ZAF), among others.

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), reigning ASP Women’s World Champion, will face off against Roxy Trials Winner and last season’s event runner-up Carissa Moore (AUS), and Samantha Cornish (AUS) and 2008 rookie Nicola Atherton (AUS) will start things off with the opening heat.

The Roxy Pro pres. by LG will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Roxy Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG Round 3 Match-Ups
Heat 1: Samantha Cornish (AUS) vs. Nicola Atherton (AUS)
Heat 2: Layne Beachley (AUS) vs. Serena Brooke (AUS)
Heat 3: Melanie Bartels (HAW) vs. Megan Abubo (HAW)
Heat 4: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) vs. Carissa Moore (HAW)
Heat 5: Sofia Mulanovich (PER) vs. Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
Heat 6: Rebecca Woods (AUS) vs. Rosanne Hodge (ZAF
Heat 7: Amee Donohoe (AUS) vs. Jacqueline Silva (BRA)
Heat 8: Silvana Lima (BRA) vs. Julia De La Rosa Toro (PER)

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG Round 3 Match-Ups
Heat 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 2: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 3: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 5: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Dane Reynolds (AUS)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Heat 7: Neco Padaratz (BRA) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 10: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (AUS) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 12: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Tim Reyes (USA)
Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 14: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 15: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Ben Bourgeois (USA)
Heat 16: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)



Home - Photo - Video - Press Releases - Friends of JettyGirl - Shopping - About JettyGirl - Contact - Archives

©2003-2008 All Rights Reserved.
The JettyGirl logo is a registered trademark of