JettyGirl Online Surf Magazine logo
Subscribe to JettyGirl's mailing list


Trials Champs Tamaroa McComb and Carissa Moore into Quiksilver and Roxy Pros

tamaroa mccomb, kelly slater, carissa moore
Above: Trials champs Tamaroa McComb and Carissa Moore move into the Quiksilver and Roxy Pros. Photo: ASP Robertson © Covered Images.


Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) International
Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG
Roxy Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG
Stop No. 1 of 11 on the 2008 ASP World Tour
Stop No. 1 of 8 on the 2008 ASP WomenÃÔ World Tour
Snapper Rocks,Coolangatta,Australia
February 23 - March 5, 2008

Trials Champs Tamaroa McComb and Carissa Moore into Quiksilver and Roxy Pros

COOLANGATTA,Australia (Friday, Feb. 22, 2008) The Kommunity Project and Roxy Pro Trials have been completed in two-to-three foot (1 metre) surf at Snapper Rocks and Tamaroa McComb (PYF) and Carissa Moore (HAW) will receive the final seeds into the Quiksilver and Roxy Pros respectively.

After two rounds of intense competition, the Kommunity Project Trials whittled down the 16-man field to the final four. McComb was nigh unstoppable in his finals clash against local powerhouses Troy Brooks (AUS), Dale Richards (AUS) and Blake Ainsworth (AUS). The young Tahitian displayed a maturity well beyond his 17 young years, mixing futuristic fin-free turns with classical rail work.

"The waves have been pretty fun the past few days so I am stoked I could come here today and win,McComb said. "I’ve been surfing a lot around here at Snapper and Kirra and D’Bah all good waves."

McComb now draws reigning ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) in the opening round of Quiksilver Pro competition.

"I actually feel more relaxed competing against Mick (Fanning) than I would meeting a girl,McComb said. "This is the best thing that has ever happened to me and even competing against Troy (Brooks) was great. I am very much looking forward to the event."

The women’s final was a hard-fought bout between up-and-comers Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) and Arini Mason (NZL), powerbroker Laurina McGrath (AUS) and last year’s Roxy Pro runner-up Carissa Moore (HAW). Although Fitzgibbons opened up to a strong lead early on, it was the Hawaiian who answered back with the only perfect 10 of the day and put her competitors on the ropes.

"Snapper is such a good wave and I am always stoked to surf here, Moore said. "I felt a little bit of pressure earlier today, but after the first two heats I felt pretty good."

Moore will open up her 2008 Roxy Pro campaign against reigning ASP Women’s World Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) in her Round 1 heat.

"I’ve never competed against Stephanie (Gilmore) before, but I have enjoyed watching her a lot,Moore said. "She had a really good year last season so I’m just stoked to have the opportunity and I look forward to it."

The Quiksilver and Roxy Pros pres. by LG kick off the 2008 ASP World Tour and ASP Women’s World Tour seasons. Event organizers will convene tomorrow at 7am local time to assess the conditions and make the official call for the day. Both the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast and the Roxy Pro Gold Coast will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Kommunity Project Trials Final Results
1 Tamaroa McComb (PYF) 16.60
2 Troy Brooks (AUS) 15.75
3 Blake Ainsworth (AUS) 10.90
4 Dale Richards (AUS) 10.70

Roxy Pro Trials Final Results
1 Carrissa Moore (HAW) 15.60
2 Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 15.40
3 Arini Mason (NZL) 13.75
4 Laurina McGrath (AUS) 8.65

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast Round 1 Match-Ups
Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA), Royden Bryson (ZAF), Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 2: Dean Morrison (AUS), Daniel Wills (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Bruce Irons (HAW), Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 4: Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Ricky Basnett (ZAF), Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 5: Andy Irons (HAW), Frederick Patacchia (HAW), Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Neco Padaratz (BRA), Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS), Michael Campbell (AUS),Tamaroa McComb (PYF)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 11: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Ben Bourgeois (USA)
Heat 12: Kai Otton (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 13: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Dayyan Neve (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA), Ben Dunn (AUS), Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 15: Damien Hobgood (USA), Luke Munro (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 16: Luke Stedman (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), Jordy Smith (ZAF)

Roxy Pro pres. by LG Round 1 Match-Ups
Heat 1: Layne Beachley (AUS), Rebecca Woods (AUS), Serena Brooke (AUS)
Heat 2: Samantha Cornish (AUS), Melanie Bartels (HAW), Nicola Atherton (AUS)
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Jacqueline Silva (BRA), Carissa Moore (HAW)
Heat 4:Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Rosanne Hodge (ZAF), Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
Heat 5: Silvana Lima (BRA), Megan Abubo (HAW), Julia de la Rosa Toro (PER)
Heat 6: Amee Donohoe (AUS), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS), Karina Petroni (USA)



Home - Photo - Video - Press Releases - Friends of JettyGirl - Shopping - About JettyGirl - Contact - Archives

©2003-2008 All Rights Reserved.
The JettyGirl logo is a registered trademark of