JettyGirl Online Surf Magazine logo
Subscribe to JettyGirl's mailing list


Stephanie Gilmore Wins Billabong Pro Maui; Abubo Takes Vans Triple Crown

billabong pro maui winner stephanie gilmore and runner up jessi miley-dyer

megan abubo wins the 2007 vans triple crown of hawaii Left: Billabong Pro Maui winner Stephanie Gilmore and fellow finalist, Jessi Miley-Dyer. Photo: ASP Towner © Covered Images. Above: Megan Abubo took home $10,000 and a new Chevy truck for winning the 2007 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. Photo: ASP Towner © Covered Images.


December 14th, 2007 | Billabong Pro Maui

Stephanie Gilmore Wins Billabong Pro Maui; Abubo Takes Vans Triple Crown

HONOLUA BAY, Maui (Friday, Dec. 14, 2007) – Steaphanie Gilmore (AUS) has claimed the 2007 Billabong Pro Maui after a showdown against fellow finalist and defending Billabong Pro Maui Champion Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) in two-to-three foot (1 metre) waves at Honolua Bay

The final event of the 2007 ASP Women’s World Tour, the Billabong Pro Maui saw the rookie Gilmore claim the 2007 ASP Women’s World Title following yesterday’s Round 3 action, and today’s victory at Honolua Bay marks the young Australian’s fourth win this season.

“It’s been such an incredible year for me,” Gilmore said. “Everything from traveling with my friends to winning events to claiming the title in Maui, it’s all be so much fun. I can’t believe it. To finish the year with another win, I’m just over the moon.”

Making use of the declining swell, Billabong Pro Maui event organizers opted to run the final day of competition today. Although the Final was somewhat wave-starved, Gilmore’s stylish forehand assault would prove victorious over the goofy-footer, Miley-Dyer.

“It was really special to finish the year out there with Jessi (Miley-Dyer),” Gilmore said. “The waves weren’t that great, but we still managed to get a few. We were just enjoying ourselves out there and talking. I’m super stoked to finish the year with a win.”

Miley-Dyer, who claimed the event’s high heat total of an 18.65 out of a possible 20 in yesterday’s Round 3 action, dominated the inconsistent righthanders througout the day, defeating opponents Keala Kennelly (HAW) and Layne Beachley (AUS) en route to her finals berth.

“Making the finals two years in a row is a big accomplishment for me,” Miley-Dyer said. “I was fortunate enough to win last year, and to make the finals again with Steph (Gilmore) is great. I’m super stoked to have been able to share her ASP World Title with her, and I’m really please with myself for finishing the year off strong.”

In addition to the ASP Women’s World Title and the Billabong Pro Maui Title, the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing was on the line during the final day of competition with three remaining contenders in Layne Beachley (AUS), Melanie Bartels (HAW) and Megan Abubo (HAW)

Abubo, winner of the Reef Pro Haleiwa, emerged victorious today, taking down the 2007 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing with her equal 5th place finish at the Billabong Pro Maui.

“I was a little bummed that I lost out to Rosy (Hodge), and I kind of took off,” Abubo said. “I knew that Layne (Beachley) was still in the hunt and she’s such a competitor out here that she easily could have gotten the result. My team manager called me when she lost out and told me that I had won the Triple Crown and I was almost in disbelief.”

Abubo, who suffered a horrific abdominal injury at the Roxy Pro Sunset, rallied at Honolua Bay, posting solid scores in the earlier rounds and exhibiting excellent wave selection. For her efforts, Abubo will be awarded $10,000 as well as a brand-new Chevy Truck.

“Wow, I’m super stoked that Vans puts on the Triple Crown,” Abubo said. “It’s such a good thing for women’s surfing, to allow us to showcase our talents in the big waves of Hawaii. I am so happy right now, I don’t really have words to describe it. It’s been a long time since a Hawaiian has taken the Vans Triple Crown and I am honored to bring it back to the islands.”

Now that the 2007 ASP Women’s World Tour has come to a close, campaigners from the ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) have been locked in for the 2008 Dream Tour, with the following surfers all vying for the ASP Women’s World Title in 2008:

1 – Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2 – Sofia Mulanovich (PER)
3 – Silvana Lima (BRA)
4 – Samantha Cornish (AUS)
5 – Layne Beachley (AUS)
6 – Amee Donohoe (AUS)
7 – Chelsea Hedges (AUS)
8 – Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)
9 – Rebecca Woods (AUS)
10 – Melanie Bartels (HAW)
11 – Jacqueline Silva (BRA)
12 – Megan Abubo (HAW)
13 – Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS)
14 – Karina Petroni (USA)
15 – Serena Brooke (AUS)
16 – Nicola Atherton (AUS)
17 – ASP Wildcard

For more information, log onto or

FUEL TV will be broadcasting the Billabong Pro Maui presented by Hawaiian Airlines. For more information, log onto

RESULTS: Billabong Pro Maui (ASP Women’s World Tour)

1 – Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 10.33
2 – Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) 8.36

SEMIFINALS: 4 surfers remaining
SF 1: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) 12.85 def. Layne Beachley (AUS) 12.50
SF 2: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 7.50 def. Rosanne Hodge (ZAF) 6.85

QUARTERFINALS: 8 surfers remaining
QF 1: Layne Beachley (AUS) 14.70 def. Melanie Bartels (HAW) 13.40
QF 2: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) 11.50 def. Keala Kennelly (HAW) 6.75
QF 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 13.00 def. Claire Bevilacqua (AUS) 8.50
QF 4: Rosanne Hodge (ZAF) 12.75 def. Megan Abubo (HAW) 7.60

1 – Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2 – Sofia Mulanovich (PER) 5947 points
3 – Silvana Lima (BRA) 5342 points
4 – Samantha Cornish (AUS) 4620 points
5 – Layne Beachley (AUS) 4610 points
6 – Amee Donohoe (AUS) 4406 points
7 – Chelsea Hedges (AUS) 4238 points
8 – Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) 4165 points
9 – Rebecca Woods (AUS) 3582 points
10 – Melanie Bartels (HAW) 3168 points
11 – Megan Abubo (HAW) 3054 points
12 – Rosanne Hodge (ZAF) 3000 points
13 – Claire Bevilacqua (AUS) 2976 points
14 – Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS) 2592 points
15 – Caroline Sarran (FRA) 2322 points
16 – Rochelle Ballard (HAW) 1890 points
17 – Leilani Gryde (HAW) 1152 points


Swell 468 x 60 A


Home - Photo - Video - Press Releases - Friends of JettyGirl - Shopping - About JettyGirl - Contact - Archives

©2003-2007 All Rights Reserved.
The JettyGirl logo is a registered trademark of